About us

Prime Ministers

Native Leaders

Governors General

Chief Justices

Quebec Premiers


Leadership Museum




Contact us

Order Form


(available in French only)

Premiers Ministres du QuébecI

ISBN 978-1-987832-00-6
Jean Chevrier, Jacques G. Ruelland et Jeanne Poulin, editors

29,95$ (taxes included)
To print an ORDER FORM, click here.

Thirty-one Premiers have suceeded each other at the head of Quebec's government since Confederation ─from Pierre-Olivier Chauveau to Philippe Couillard. Beautifully illustrated, this book, whose biographical essayshave been written by veteran historians, traces the career highlights of these leaders, their achievements, and thechallenges they faced during their terms in office.

Chapters and authors:

The Premiers

The Authors

Pierre-Joseph-Olivier Chauveau

Jacques G. Ruelland, associate professor in the History Department at l’Université de Montréal.

Gédéon Ouimet

Gaëtan Dostie, professor, poet, editor, videographer,and historian of Quebec literature.

Charles-Eugène Boucher de Boucherville

Léo Beaudoin, former President de la Société historique de Montréal.

Henri-Gustave Joly de Lotbinière

J. I. Little, professor in the History Department at Simon Fraser University.

Joseph-Adolphe Chapleau

Caroline Ménard, historian and instructor at l’Université de Montréal.

Joseph-Alfred Mousseau

Jacques G. Ruelland

John Jones Ross

Desmond Morton, Hiram Mills professor of History (emeritus) at McGill University.

Louis-Olivier Taillon

Léo Beaudoin

Honoré Mercier

Dominique Foisy-Geoffroy, a director of the private political archives at Library and Archives Canada.

Edmund James Flynn

Desmond Morton

Félix-Gabriel Marchand

Lionel Fortin, historian and author.

Simon-Napoléon Parent

Julien Prud'homme, associate professor at CIRST, Université du Québec à Montréal.

Lomer Gouin

Réal Bélanger, retired Université Laval professor and codirector of The Dictionary of Canadian Biography.

Louis-Alexandre Taschereau

Jules Racine St-Jacques, doctoral candidate in Quebec contemporary intellectual history at l'Université Laval.

Joseph-Adélard Godbout

Jacques Rouillard, full professor in the History Department at l'Université de Montréal.

Maurice Duplessis

Jacques Lacoursière, historian; researcher for the television series Duplessis.

Joseph-Mignault-Paul Sauvé

Alexandre Turgeon, doctoral candidate in History at l’Université Laval.

Antonio Barrette

Alexandre Turgeon

Jean Lesage

Michel Lévesque, political scientist, historian and author.

Daniel Johnson, père

Lionel Fortin

Jean-Jacques Bertrand

Samy Mesli, specialist in the history of Quebec international relations.

Robert Bourassa

Marc Simard, former professor of History at Cégep Garneau and l'Université Laval.

René Lévesque

Pierre Godin, journalist at La Presse, Le Devoir and Radio-Canada.

Pierre Marc Johnson

Razmik Varoujean, professor of History at Collège de Montréal.

Daniel Johnson, fils

Marc-André Robert, historian and librarian; doctoral candidate in History at l'Université Laval.

Jacques Parizeau

Pierre-Étienne Nantel, professor of History at Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf in Montréal.

Lucien Bouchard

Michel David, historian and political columnist at Le Devoir.

Bernard Landry

Guy Lachapelle, full professor in the Political Science Department at Concordia University.

Jean Charest

Jacques G. Ruelland

Pauline Marois

Jeanne Poulin, journalist specializing in sociopolitical and cultural issues.

Philippe Couillard

Olivier Marcil, historian and Vice President of External Relations at McGill University.



© 2016 New Federation House