About us

Prime Ministers

Native Leaders

Governors General

Chief Justices

Quebec Premiers


Leadership Museum




Contact us

Order Form

BOOK LAUNCH: The Governors General of Canada - April 17, 2013
Desmarais Building,
University of Ottawa

Organized jointly by New Federation House and the University of Ottawa
in the presence of His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada.

Click here to read the Governor General's speech at the event.

Click here to see photos of the event.

Click here to read Lawrence Martin's article on the event in The Globe & Mail.

Click here to read a review of the book by award-winning writer Susan Hallett


from Viscount Monck to David Johnston

Governors General cover

Jean Chevrier, Denis L. Daigneault and Jeanne Poulin, Editors

ISBN 978-0-9689215-8-6
(taxes included)

Since Confederation in 1867, a total of 29 governors general have stood at the helm of Canada’s parliamentary democracy. Of that number 11 have served under Queen Elizabeth II during the 60 years of her reign.

The office of governor general can claim a long and brilliant history with deep roots in New France. Those holding the title have contributed to the building of a political, social and economic society in North America that is not only successful but also distinctive. Few examples of such a multicultural union, one that is nurtured by two founding peoples, First Nations and millions of immigrants from many countries, exist elsewhere in the world.

Every region of Canada can boast a park, school, institution or sporting event that recalls the contributions of the French, British and Canadian-born governors. The Champlain Bridge in Montreal, Vancouver’s Stanley Park and Ottawa’s Lisgar Collegiate Institute were named after distinguished governors general, as were such national institutions as the Vanier Institute for the Family, Michener Awards for Journalism, and the Stanley and Grey Cups. The Victorian Order of Nurses and the Canada Council for the Arts are among the many organizations that they have established.

Beyond presiding over the opening and closing of Parliament, the official mandate has evolved. Yet the governor general continues to play a pivotal role, which includes advocating the cause of national unity, honouring Canadian excellence, and representing the country in an increasingly complex and challenging world.  As Commander-in-Chief, the governor general also brings timely support to the men and women serving in this country’s military. Standing above politics, he or she serves as a catalyst for and defender of the national interest.

This volume is dedicated to the governors general and captures their political and human dimensions, the challenges they faced, and the defining moments of their tenures. History is their legacy, as Canada builds on its past and celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2017.

The Editors
New Federation House

(in 2012)

Dimitry Anastakis (The Right Honourable Roland Michener) is Associate Professor of History and Chair of Canadian Studies, Trent University.

Stephen Azzi (The Right Honourable Jeanne Sauvé) is a historian and Associate Professor at the Clayton H. Riddell Graduate Program in Political Management, Carleton University.

D. L. Daigneault (H.R.H The Duke of Connaught, The Duke of Devonshire, The Earl of Aberdeen, The Marquess of Lansdowne, The Viscount Byng) is a historian, writer, editor and educator, and is Vice-President of New Federation House.

John English (The Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson) is Professor of History at the University of Waterloo and General Editor of the Dictionary of Canadian Biography.

Larry A. Glassford (The Right Honourable Vincent Massey) is Professor of History and Social Studies with the Faculty of Education at the University of Windsor, and has written about R.B. Bennett, Arthur Meighen and Mitch Hepburn
J. L. Granatstein (The Right Honourable Georges P. Vanier) writes on political and military subjects, has taught Canadian History at York University, and was Director and CEO of the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa.

Naomi Griffiths (The Right Honourable Roméo LeBlanc) is a distinguished Research Professor in the History Department at Carleton University and author of The Golden Age of Liberalism: A Portrait of Roméo LeBlanc, published by Lorimer Press (2011).

Gerald Gummersell (Lord Stanley, The Earl Grey) is a political scientist and a director of New Federation House.

Gaëtan Jeaurond (Lord Lisgar) is a writer, poet, former civil servant and protocol expert, and is a director of New Federation House.

Jacques Monet, s.j. (The Right Honourable Jules Léger) is Professor Emeritus, Historical Theology at Regis College at the University of Toronto and Historian with the Archive of the Jesuits in Canada - Montreal.

Lorne Monti (The Duke of Argyll (Marquess of Lorne), The Earl of Dufferin, The Earl of Minto, The Viscount Monck) is a journalist and filmmaker, and is a director of New Federation House.

Desmond Morton (The Right Honourable David Johnston) is Hiram Mills Professor Emeritus at McGill University, an officer of the Order of Canada, and a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

Nelle Oosterom (The Right Honourable Edward Schreyer, The Right Honourable Ramon Hnatyshyn) is a senior editor with Canada’s History magazine, and her work has appeared in Native Leaders of Canada, 100 Days That Changed Canada, anda variety of magazines and newspapers.

Jeanne Poulin (Lord Tweedsmuir, The Earl of Athlone, The Earl of Bessborough, The Viscount Alexander, The Viscount Willingdon) is a journalist and storyteller, and is a director of New Federation House.

Jacques G. Ruelland (The Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean) taught philosophy; he is currently museologist and Associate Professor of History at l’Université de Montréal; he has authored some thirty books.


© 2019 New Federation House